Well today is just a sucky day. I am super tired from staying up last night until around 3:30 AM trying to do that theatre paper I’ve been complaining about. I actually got it done and was pretty impressed by my bs-ing. It is such a crappy day outside, too. It has been raining all day, and not just sprinkling, it is raining pretty hard. Plus the wind is starting to pick up and that makes everything worse because then it is hard to control your umbrella and then it flips and then you are getting soaked. On a more positive note I am finally getting to a point where I can relax a bit. That theatre paper was my biggest problem. Now all I have to do is finish my psych extra credit which isn’t due until Friday and I just have to study for my psych test that is tomorrow. Then I can start worrying about finals. I only have two so I am not stressing that much. Plus the finals I have to take aren’t testing over the whole quarter, just from the last mid term to now. My room has been decked out in Christmas decorations. We have two strands of lights hanging from the ceiling and over our cupboard things. Then my roommate is super artsy and creative and turned our door into what looks like a present. We also have a tree in our room. I want to go see my family and friends, but I really wish I could stay here a little longer after finals because my hometown is so boring and there is nothing to do there, plus I am under the control of my parents so I won’t be able to do anything :(
Tuesday, November 30, 2010
Monday, November 29, 2010
68-Are you taking theatre this quarter? If so please read :)
Are you taking theatre this quarter? If you can answer yes to this, please keep reading or at least skip down to the stars. Alright so back to stressing out...I have to write this stupid theatre paper that is due tomorrow yet I can't because I missed the play that this paper is supposed to be about. Normally I would be able to just bs the whole paper but unfortunately the directions for the paper say use specific examples. Well seeing as how I have no clue what the play was about, I couldn't tell ya. And it is not like I can just look up and see what the play is about since it says we need to talk about the light design, or scene design, or sound design, or what not. This you can't just start randomly talking about, I mean you could, but it would be obvious that you have no clue what you are talking about and then I might as well have not even bothered writing the paper. So now I am trying to get someone from my theatre class to help me out but now all I can do is wait. That is the worst part, because I don’t know if anyone is even going to respond, in which case I am just going to be totally screwed.
**So if anyone is taking theatre and they want to help me, please comment on here, I would appreciate it so much, because you will be saving my life.
Sunday, November 28, 2010
67
Ok so I am finally starting to stress out again. I was doing so good lately not worrying too much about my school work because well I did not really have that much. Now we are at the end of the quarter and I did not notice how close we really are. So now I have a bunch of papers to write. Some are actual assignments and some are just extra credit but I still need to do them. Also I just discovered that in my survey class, one of the assignments says I have 0/30 points. Well I am 99.9% sure I completed that assignment so I am really getting worried, plus that is like the biggest assignment point wise, so pretty much I am going to fail my survey class if I do not get those points. That would be really bad and really sad. So now I am watching the end of the Steelers game and then I am getting right back to my homework. I have to write a two page paper for my theatre class about two plays we had to go to for the class. We have to talk about like the lighting and emotional connection and stuff like that. I do not know what I am going to write about because I am not good with theatre kind of stuff. I like to watch plays but I don’t have like an emotional connection or anything with them. It is like me watching Spongebob. I enjoy it, but it doesn’t really affect me two seconds after it is over.
Saturday, November 27, 2010
66
GAME DAY!!!!! BEAT MICHIGAN!!!!! Obviously today is the OSU vs. Michigan game and I need to write this blog before I go because there is no way I will be doing it later. Therefore, this blog will be the fastest one I have ever written. I am super stoked to go to the game but it is going to be so cold! I already have three layers on right now and I plan on putting another three on. I also have soccer socks on and boots to keep my feet and legs warm. I have a head band to keep my ears warm, but I just got my rook pierced a couple days ago so it kind of hurts to wear it but I think I would rather have warm ears with a little pain. My friends also want to put war paint on our faces but I am not too sure that is going to happen. Oh and what I am mostly concerned about it actually getting into the game. (I’m about to tell quite a long story but trust me, it’s worth reading.) You see, I have a two year old chocolate lab and if anyone has ever had this kind of dog they would know that until the age of about three or four these dogs still act like puppies only super strong. So I was home these past couple days obviously for Thanksgiving and I left my house for about an hour. I had all of my stuff in a room but the double doors don’t lock so we have to use a headband to tie around it so my dog can’t push through it and get whatever is in there. Well luckily for my dog my much smarter sisters’ golden retriever actually pushed through it apparently. No one was home when I got home and I saw the doors open so I was immediately alarmed. I got in the room and there is a pair of my underwear almost completely eaten and the whole point of this long story. My good ol’ buck id sitting on the ground......half eaten....and the buck id place is closed until Monday, so if I don’t get into this game I am going to flip.
Friday, November 26, 2010
65
Well back in Columbus and pretty excited about that. I was glad to be home for a couple of days but I am so free up here whereas I was being told what I could do before I even made it home. That is probably my favorite thing about college. Just the freedom. I had very strict rules in high school and I never broke them because if I did I would never have any kind of a social life. This only had to be proven once because the one time I did break a rule I lost any kind of privileges for almost a month. Any time I went from one place to another I would have to call my parents and once I got there I would have to call them again and if it was at one of my friends’ houses I would have to call from the home phone so they knew I was where I said I was. Pretty ridiculous right? My curfew was midnight and randomly my parents would change that and make me come home early. Now I can go wherever I want, hang out with my friends whenever, get back to my dorm whenever. My friends from college laugh at all the stupid rules I had and the different stories where I got in trouble and it was a completely innocent thing to get grounded for. Then they tell me their stories of things they did and never got in trouble. Not fair for me then but now I can live my life how I want to live it.
Thursday, November 25, 2010
64
Happy Thanksgiving everyone! So it has been really nice being home. Thanksgiving was really nice because we usually have a lot of my step family over and its really chaotic and sometime really awkward but this year only my step sister and her husband came who I love and are awesome. They also brought their two golden retrievers. So this year Thanksgiving was really chill and I got to play band hero and karaoke with my step sister. The food was great as always. I’m not a stuffing fan but I had lots of turkey, green beans, mash potatoes, and some kind of rolls. Then I went with my dad and went to see my half sister and my nephew. He is only 1 and a half and the cutest baby you will ever see. I miss him so much when I’m at college because I am missing him growing up, he is so big compared to the last time I saw him.
I have been doing a lot of blogs about music artists so I figured I should end this blog the same way. I have not really heard much radio since I have been in college because I am never driving around where I would normally have the radio on, but yesterday when I was finally driving again I had the radio cranked up and was listening to the song “Grenade” by Bruno Mars and really liked it. So when I got home I decided to listen to it again and look up some more songs of him on youtube. I love the song “Just The Way You Are” and any other song he’s had on the radio, but last night I fell in love with Bruno Mars. His music is awesome and I’ve been listening to it since. My favorite song right now is “Grenade” and “All She Knows.”
Wednesday, November 24, 2010
63
The Mirror Lake jump was AWESOME!! I went around 10 and jumped with some friends and then went back with them around 11 to 12 to check out the real chaos. It was so crazy and so cold! We froze running over and froze in the water and then froze running back. When we finally got back my skin was like beat red trying to thaw. We put on warm clothes and waited to get back to a decent temperature, then we jumped in the shower. After that we went down to the lobby and got hot dogs and hot chocolate to warm us up. Then back to the lake to take pictures of the craziness. We saw a yellow and red teletubbie jumping in and a banana helping them out haha. Then there was a shark canoe kind of thing and the random other floatation devices. Also saw a lot of speedos. After all that I came back and saw my roommates after they had jumped in. They were pretty energized after it, and I was ready for bed. I finally got to bed around 2:30 but I wasn’t going to class the next day so I wasn’t really worried about it. Well I am finally home and was really excited to shower in my own shower without shoes on and I actually felt clean after getting out because I knew the shower was actually clean unlike the ones in the dorms. Tonight I think I will watch some Grey’s Anatomy and just hang out.
Tuesday, November 23, 2010
62
Ok so back to Battlestar Galactica. First off I would just like to say that whoever thought this movie was entertaining enough to make it three hours long was really wrong. I mean I didn’t hate the movie, don’t get me wrong, but I can barely watch all of the Harry Potter movies for that long and I love those. I think the movie would have been better if it was more condensed, instead of dragging along like it did at many parts. I feel there was a lot that could have been taken out of the movie that just was not really relevant to the main parts of the movie. I think I was more interested in trying to figure out what other movies or television shows the other actors were in. I know the president lady was on Grey’s Anatomy, and the Capain Adama or whatever it is was in something that I saw but I can’t remember at all and it is bugging me. I feel like the end of the movie was left pretty open, like the Cylon maybe not Cylon guy who was locked in that room even though he swears he is not a Cylon and he hasn’t gotten sick at all yet so that was weird. Then Captain Adama says he knows there is an Earth and he knows where it is at but yet when him and the president lady talk about it later, what I took from the conversation was that it doesn’t really exist and he was just trying to get everyone to think positively. I don’t know, I probably am totally off and just didn’t understand what was really going on.
Monday, November 22, 2010
61
3 days until I get to go home and just relax. I have so much tv to catch up on. I do not know if I have ever mentioned all my shows in a blog before but if not I am going to take time out of this blog to show everyone how pathetic I am for watching so much tv. The following are all the shows I watch in no order particular: One Tree Hill, Gossip Girl, House, Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice, True Blood, Real World (and any of those challenge ones like the Gauntlet), Secret Life of the American Teenager, Degrassi, Greek, Glee, The Real L Word, and American Idol. I used to watch The Hill and The City but those are recently gone. There are probably even more than what I just named. The only shows I have actually stayed up to date with are One Tree Hill and Glee. All the other ones are probably overflowing on my DVR at home. Therefore, this week is going to consist of lots of food and watching tv. I will be needing to run every day for at least 20 miles after these three days coming up. I am hoping to be able to just around but I doubt that will happen because I have some papers that I need to write that are obviously going to be due soon seeing as how the quarter is starting to come to an end. It is so crazy to think how long I have actually been here. I have loved it so far and I am hoping the rest of the year will be just as good if not better :)
Sunday, November 21, 2010
60
Well guitar hero/ band hero/ rock band has taken over my weekends. From Friday into the very early hour of 4 am on Sunday morning, I played one of these three games for thirteen hours out of fifty two hours. My friends were at least joining me in this marathon of guitar hero-ing because that would be really sad if I spent all that time by myself playing a video game. I just had a floor meeting about Michigan Week, obviously the main topic being the Mirror Lake jump. I am really not looking forward to this because I was just shown a video from last years jump. It looks really intimidating, there are so many people there, like thousands, and 75% of them if not more are most likely drunk and on top of all of this it is not going to be very warm out and the water is going to be freezing. I was not planning on joining in on this jump but my friends are forcing me to so I do not really have any say in this. I would be mad at myself if I didn’t do it anyhow so I guess it is actually a good thing. Now I am watching whatever the music awards thing is right now, I forget exactly what it is called. I love both Justin Bieber and Taylor Swift but I have to be honest, they are not very good singers. Which is ironic since they are such huge artists these days.
Saturday, November 20, 2010
59
Saturday and no football game, kind of disappointing. Last night was awesome though. I stayed in with two of my friends, Tasha and Maria, and played guitar hero all night. Well actually, we played guitar hero, guitar hero 2, guitar hero 3, and band hero. Band hero is definitely my favorite by far because it has recent songs on it that I have actually heard of. One of my all time favorite songs is Warwick Avenue by Duffy and it is on band hero so that is pretty much why I bought the game. I made Warwick Avenue my ringtone a couple years ago and none of my friends had heard the song but after like a week every time I got a text all of my friends in unison would start singing along with it. I love to share this song with people because it is so good and Maria now loves it. So I am still spreading the awesomeness of this song to people. Everyone should check it out. Duffy has such a unique voice so you will either absolutely hate it, or be in love with it. She also has a song called Syrup and Honey that I am also in love with. Now I am trying to get this blog done as soon as possible because I am going to Sloopy’s at 1 and it is currently 12:50, therefore I have plenty of time, but I was starting to run out of things to talk about after Duffy but now I’m in the clear. Have a good weekend!
Friday, November 19, 2010
58
Well it is finally Friday and I am super excited. I just found out two of my friends from high school are here visiting so I get to see them later. Then another friend from high school is coming for the whole weekend and yet another friend is coming tomorrow night. On top of all my friends coming down my sister is also coming so I am pretty excited for this weekend. Me and my friend have officially made Friday’s pancake and fries day at Sloopy’s. It sounds kind of gross putting those two together but they are really good. I always get chocolate chip pancakes from Sloopy’s, but they are soooo big! I have never seen pancakes that huge, even when I try to make them that big, it just does not work for me. The new tradition will also be followed by movies and guitar hero tournaments. I am also super excited for Thanksgiving break. I get to see my best friends again finally. I have seen my friend Megan a couple times since September but I have only seen my friend Katie once since then, and I have not seen my friend Kate AT ALL since then so I am really looking forward to seeing them again. So I have wanted to get my lip pierced for a while now but my mom will not let me. She said if I pierce my lip then she won’t help pay for college at all. I told my mom for my birthday, which was November 1st, that my roommates were going to take me to get my lip pierced. My parents haven’t seen me since then so I had my sister who is living at home get me a fake lip ring so I can wear it when I go home for Thanksgiving. They are going to freak out because they will think I went against them and got my lip pierced, I am so excited to see what they will say/do. I am hoping that once they see it is fake maybe they will think it looks okay and will let me actually get it pierced, but I am about 99.9% sure that will not happen so I am not getting my hopes up.
Thursday, November 18, 2010
57
So today we watched Battlestar Galactica in class and I was surprisingly interested in it. Unfortunately, I have been really tired today so I was kind of drifting off a few times. So what I am understanding of it so far is that there are a group of robots called Cylons. They are these big bulky robots that are quite obvious what they are, but now they have created twelve new Cylons that look exactly like human beings. No one knows about these twelve new Cylons though. I think the woman at the beginning of the movie that was kissing the old guy is the same woman as the one with blonde hair, who we find out is number six of the twelve Cylons. So the creepiest part of the movie so far was when she was with the lady and her little baby. She asked to hold the baby and the lady actually let her, which, if I were the lady, some random stranger would not be allowed to hold my baby. The woman robot holds the baby and acts all nice but then says something like, “don’t worry you won’t be crying much longer.” Then she puts the baby down, the lady looks away, and then the woman robot just cracks the baby’s neck. Obviously the Cylon robots do not have a heart. Admiral Adama has two sons, but I think one was killed. He is divorced to his wife and his other son, Captain Adama, who comes to visit on the ship hates him. I guess the Cylons are currently bombing the Earth and the Battlestar Galactica crew are trying to stop them.
Wednesday, November 17, 2010
RIHANNA'S NEW CD!! ---56
Today my blog is about RIHANNA!! Her new cd just came out yesterday and it is so amazing! I love Rihanna so I guess I am kind of bias to be making this statement. Her sound has gone back to the Good Girl Gone Bad cd which I liked a lot better than her last cd. I liked Rude Boy and Russian Roulette but I was not a fan of the other songs. I like Rihanna because she has a good beat with her songs where she kind of raps, but she also actually sings. I am not a huge rap fan right now, although my friend is trying to change that, but I like that Rihanna has a variety in her songs. Of course as I am writing this I am listening to her new cd. I am currently listening to California King Bed and it is such a good ballad kind of song. Then there is the song Raining Men which features Nicki Minaj so you can kind of imagine what that song is like, because Nicki Minaj is a crazy female rapper. Fun facts: Did you know Rihanna’s real name is Robyn and her middle name is Rihanna? So glad she goes by her middle name, Robyn is not a very good celebrity name. Did you know Rihanna lived in Barbados until she was 16? I knew she was from there but I was not aware until recently that she had lived there that long. But anyhow I am just saying everyone should listen to Rihanna’s new cd called Loud, totally worth the money if you don’t steal it.
Tuesday, November 16, 2010
blog 55
Well today was interesting to say the least. I woke up to a text warning me about the bomb threats. I am glad nothing has happened and hopefully nothing does but I am kind of upset none of my classes were cancelled today. I had a class right next to one of them, and I am just saying, if a bomb went off in that building, I doubt that the caution tape would have just stopped the explosion of the bomb and the flying objects, so I am thinking those buildings surrounding it should have been closed down too. It was a pain in the butt trying to find a way to class too with all the roads closed off. I am glad that Ohio State took this so seriously though, because it really was a serious manner and it makes me feel really safe going here.
So I have this theatre project I have been complaining about due Thursday and I just got my shoe box model finished. I am quite impressed with it actually because I am the least creative and artsy person ever. Now all I have to do is write a two page paper about it. I really am not sure how I am going to write two pages about me glueing and taping together pieces of cardboard. I am using sour patch kids as my roommates, not very realistic, but I think it will be funny. Well I need to go write that paper, bye.
Monday, November 15, 2010
54 Review my paper?
So I have finished my paper for now, I posted the first part earlier so I am posting all of it and I'll change the color for my last part.
Have you ever felt invisible to the world or wanted to be invisible? We all have those moments when we feel outcasted by the rest of the group. Sometimes we are picked on and treated unfairly which causes these feelings of wanting to become invisible. Other times, we are the ones that are causing people to feel like this. In a recent study, 77% of students are bullied either physically, mentally, and/or verbally. Then on the other hand, 1 out of 5 students admitted to being a bully to their peers or have at least picked on someone once or twice. These small acts of bullying are responsible for the increase of much more dangerous violence to occur such as knife attacks, gun shootings, and suicide pacts. These are serious problems that are occurring in schools and they need to be stopped.
Besides the obvious pushing, shoving, punching, etc., bullying can be more than just physical attacks. With all the new technology, there are so many ways to be bullied or to bully someone else. Not only do we see our classmates almost every day for nine months, at school and at after school activities, there are also internet social networks on the computer such as Facebook, Myspace, and Twitter that contribute to more ways of bullying. This way of using the internet to pick on others is called cyber bullying. If you have not personally had someone use the internet to bully you, then you have at least seen someone else do this. I see it everyday and have experienced this myself. Not only do people use these social networks for just back and forth typings, they also can post pictures and videos making fun of others. These acts of bullying can be even more painful than physical violence.
Along with personal contact and social networks, there is also bullying through phones. This type of harassment is also referred to as cyber bullying. There are multiple ways to use a cellular phone for bullying. Prank calls are often a popular way to call someone and say whatever cruel things without the person actually knowing who is calling. Along with phone calls are texting. Not only can you send regular texts but you can also send picture and video texts. With all these different ways to bully someone, it’s surprising there isn’t even more than there already is.
Recently in the news, we have learned about the many suicides of teenagers that could not endure the bullying they received for being open about their homosexuality. A fifteen year old boy named Billy Lucas hanged himself because of the torment he went through from his peers. Students threatened to beat him up everyday and would call him names making fun of his sexual orientation. It is thought that the staff in the school knew about his situation but did little to help. All of this built up in Billy and he could not take the bullying anymore and decided to end his life.
Schools should be doing more to prevent these things from happening. Most schools do not have the proper means of security to keep their students safe or pay enough attention to some of the problems that students may be facing. Although security items can be very expensive, the safety of the students should be more important than the spendings. 86% of students feel that kids that are harassed turn to lethal violence in their schools. To help prevent bullying, schools should be putting together more programs to support the many differing problems and personalities of their students. Who knows what could have prevented Billy’s death, but if one act of kindness could have eased some of the pain, he might have had the strength to keep pushing through to another day.
Sunday, November 14, 2010
53
So I spent my time very unwisely this week/weekend. We had a whole entire day off and I got absolutely no homework done. I have a psychology test tomorrow that I have not studied for at all and a huge theatre project that is due Thursday that I have not even started on. I do not know what I was thinking. This is the first time since I have been in college that I have done this. I have been really good at not procrastinating until now. I am really disappointed in myself because now I am going to be so busy for the next four days on top of anything else I get in class that I have to do. I have to go to a play called On The Shore of The Wide World for my theatre class today at 3, so I am trying to get done whatever I can before that. Then once I get back from that I am going to sit in the study room until about 3 am working on all my homework and studying. I hope my roommates do not get mad when I come back in the room that late. I really just want to take a nap too, I think that is the worst part, because I know I can’t. Everyone in our room is doing homework right now so I am not sure why the tv is on, especially on football with the Vikings against the Bears, because two of us are Steelers fans and my other roommate doesn’t really care. Well I need to work on other stuff so good bye for now.
Saturday, November 13, 2010
52
Ok so here's what I have for my paper so far...i feel like it's a lot better than my first but still needs some work, let me know what you think.
Have you ever felt invisible to the world or wanted to be invisible? We all have those moments when we feel outcasted by the rest of the group. Sometimes we are picked on and treated unfairly which causes these feelings of wanting to become invisible. Other times, we are the ones that are causing people to feel like this. In a recent study, 77% of students are bullied either physically, mentally, and/or verbally. Then on the other hand, 1 out of 5 students admitted to being a bully to their peers or have at least picked on someone once or twice. These small acts of bullying are responsible for the increase of much more dangerous violence to occur such as knife attacks, gun shootings, and suicide pacts. These are serious problems that are occurring in schools and they need to be stopped.
Besides the obvious pushing, shoving, punching, etc., bullying can be more than just physical attacks. With all the new technology, there are so many ways to be bullied or to bully someone else. Not only do we see our classmates almost every day for nine months, at school and at after school activities, there are also internet social networks on the computer such as Facebook, Myspace, and Twitter that contribute to more ways of bullying. This way of using the internet to pick on others is called cyber bullying. If you have not personally had someone use the internet to bully you, then you have at least seen someone else do this. I see it everyday and have experienced this myself. Not only do people use these social networks for just back and forth typings, they also can post pictures and videos making fun of others. These acts of bullying can be even more painful than physical violence.
Along with personal contact and social networks, there is also bullying through phones. This type of harassment is also referred to as cyber bullying. There are multiple ways to use a cellular phone for bullying. Prank calls are often a popular way to call someone and say whatever cruel things without the person actually knowing who is calling. Along with phone calls are texting. Not only can you send regular texts but you can also send picture and video texts. With all these different ways to bully someone, it’s surprising there isn’t even more than there already is.
Schools should be doing more to prevent these things from happening. Most schools do not have the proper means of security to keep their students safe. Although security items can be very expensive, the safety of the students should be more important than the spendings. 86% of students feel that kids that are harassed turn to lethal violence in their schools.
Friday, November 12, 2010
51
Alright well today I MUST get some work done. I am tired of blowing it off and stressing even more the next day because I did not do anything and I am even closer to the dead line. I forgot I have a psych test Monday so there is another thing I have added to my long to do list. This is going to be the easiest thing I do today probably. On top of all my homework I got a jacket for my birthday that was the wrong size and I have been needing to get somewhere to send the package back and I still have not. So I am determined to go today but I do not want to go by myself incase I get lost and everyone is in class, at an FYE thing, with their mom (because she made a surprise visit which my parents better never do), or just not around. So I guess I will wait a little longer because someone is bound to be able to go, if not, I guess I will just have to try to not get lost. So since I have so much homework to do, I think I will be staying in tonight and try to get a bunch done because I have a feeling tomorrow nothing will get done. I wish the game tomorrow was at 3 or just anytime later than noon. You do not get to sleep in because you have to get ready and if you are attending any festivities before you have to get up super early, well for a Saturday anyhow. But anyhow I am excited for the weekend, I just first have to do all this other work, well cya.
Thursday, November 11, 2010
Blog 50?
So last night was absolutely great and yet totally terrible at the same time. I went out with my friend Tasha and her friend Teddy. We went to the place we always go and it was a fun time. Then today I woke up at 12:15 and i had to go to a theatre meeting thing with my group at 1. So i jumped up, cleaned some stains from my clothes from last night, showered, and through some clothes on. I ran out of my dorm and it ended up being cancelled so I got up for nothing. So I decided I should probably do laundry today because I had a ton to do and all my clothes from last night got stuff on them so I need to take care of that. I went out last night with a leather jacket on and came back with my friend’s sweat shirt, my leather jacket, another friend’s northface jacket, and another friend’s leather jacket. I was freezing last night, it was so cold. It was so warm out yesterday and just dropped like 30 degrees that night. So now I am trying to catch up on some homework, which is not going well. I have to write two papers before Thursday, make a collage for my theatre class, and make a 3D diorama kind of thing for theatre also. I am not good with arts and crafts related stuff so I am pretty bad off with that. Well I should get back to my common place paper, it really needs some work.
Tuesday, November 9, 2010
Blog 49--I need more help, I am so lost :(
So I just sat down for the past two hours to write my common place paper because mine absolutely sucked and I am well aware of it, because I literally did wait until the last second and threw around some random ideas. So for whoever had to read my paper in class the other day I am really sorry, it was HORRIBLE, and I am actually a pretty decent writer, I just have no clue what to do for this paper. I have so many thoughts and ideas but known of them can make an argument or persuade someone to do something about it. As you probably know my paper is about invisibility or whatever kind of stuff, just something along that line. I keep asking for help and everyone’s opinions really are helpful but I just cannot seem to put them together to actually write something. I do not know how you can argue about being invisible. I guess the only idea I can really come up with is what we could do to make people not feel this way? I don’t know, that seems kind of boring to me, I wouldn’t want to read something about that and since this kind of has to relate to our ARP there is nothing else I can really write about. I am really stressed out about this even though I know we can eventually revise it for a better grade but I would like to do my best on the first attempt. Once again sorry for my horrible first draft, hopefully with everyone’s help I will be able to write a paper that doesn’t make you fall asleep.
Blog 48
Well yesterday I sat around and did just about nothing. I did my blog early in the day so I did not have any homework. Therefore, I just lounged all day, did a few REP’s to waste time and get those over with. I read some random book my friend gave me. Then I took a nap at 10 and woke up around 11 to watch the end of the Steeler’s game with my friends. Then I showered and went to bed. I was feeling pretty good with my day because I did not really have anything coming up to do. So I go to my classes today and find out I have a crap ton of stuff to do. I feel like it is still the first week of November if that, and it is already the 9th. I have a big theatre project due next Thursday and I have not even started on my part of it. I am the scene designer and I am not artsy or creative at all so I am pretty much screwed for this project. I also have to make some kind of prop for our scene. So not only do I have to clue what to make, I do not have anything just laying around in my dorm room that I could use to make up some random prop. I also have to make a poster board of materials and pictures from magazines, books, and whatever else. I feel as though I totally wasted yesterday and now I am going to be stressed for the next few days trying to get all this stuff done.
Monday, November 8, 2010
Blog 47
Well it is only 11:45 in the morning so not much has happened today. I woke up around 9:25. Today was not an easy time getting up. One of my roommates came back from working the front desk at 4 am and apparently her boyfriend came in before that, too. Then my other roommate gets up for class around 8 on Monday’s and that usually wakes me up for about a second then I fall back to sleep, but I was so passed out all night and morning I did not even hear anyone coming in or out of the room or getting up or anything. I had napped a lot yesterday so I do not know why I was so tired. So now I am sitting in the psychology building waiting for class so I figured I should blog now so I have time to just hang out later. I really need to be signing up for some more REP’s for my psychology class, but they are just such a pain to deal with. We have to do too many many, I do not feel like we get enough credit for the studies that we go to. Plus on top of being behind in the REP’s, I really need to do my laundry but I keep putting it off, soon I am not going to have any clothes to wear. I am happy to report that my knuckle has healed pretty well. It is not really too bruised anymore, it is still swollen and hurts to touch it, but it does not look as gross anymore.
Sunday, November 7, 2010
blog 46
So last night was fun for the most part. It was fun actually being with all my friends together. All my friends that went were Anthony, Tasha, Megan, Tyler, and Maria. I have a nice bruise on my right knuckle from playing bloody knuckles, not a very fun game. I did not start it, Maria did, but I just kind of went along with it. Stupid decision, but I keep saying you have to try everything at least once so that is my excuse for my lack of intelligence. My friends are awesome though, they are always there for me. This sentence might sound random but some stuff happened last night and they were all giving me a big group hug and just really helped me out so I am very thankful for such great friends.
So today I pretty much just sat around and slept all day. When everyone woke up we all went to the Market Place for lunch because it is about the only place open around noon that takes swipes. I got pizza which, is not the best there, but it was alright. So then we came back and my friends that came to visit for the weekend left. Then after that I took a nap. After I woke up I cleaned the room because it was a horrible mess from everyone being here and just throwing stuff every where. One of my roommates went home this weekend so I wanted to clean up too before she got back and I figured she would bring her mom in so I didn’t want her to see our room looking so bad either. So now I am going to have my dinner, byeee.
Saturday, November 6, 2010
45
So today I watched 2 episodes of The Real L Word and A LOT of stuff happened. Most of the cast went to Dinah Shore which is pretty much a spring break every year for lesbians. So starting First off I hate Rose. She treats her girlfriend Natalie so horribly. They fight every single scene in the episodes. I try to ignore them because I get so agitated at Rose because she is so rude to Natalie even though she is so nice and supportive. So onto Whitney, she is my favorite. She has sick dreads and snake bites. I want to get my lip pierced but my mom will not let me.
Ok so I am about to go out and I still have not finished this blog from like 3 am and so I am going to ramble on for the next one hundred words. I apologize for this because the episodes I watched were really awesome and now I do not have enough to think out everything that happened to write this blog. So I am going to my friends’ house tonight where I go every weekend. I am finally taking all my friends out tonight with me. We have never actually all partied together so it should be a fun night. Well tonight is actually going to suck because some major crap happened in between the past three hours so I was super excited but now I am kind of being let down. Oh well, I am going to go now, bye.
Friday, November 5, 2010
44
Ok so I feel like my introductory paragraph is kind of every where and has a lot of ideas but they do not tie in like i want them too so if anyone has any suggestions feel free to leave me some comments, any help is good help. Thanks :)
Have you ever felt invisible to the world or wanted to be invisible? We all have those moments when we feel outcasted by the rest of the group or we wish we could be anywhere but at that particular place. There are also the times when we wish we could be invisible. The television series Buffy the Vampire Slayer uses a lot of metaphors to connect their viewers to the show. By using this technique, the viewers can relate to what is happening in the episodes and therefore be more interested and more likely to watch others. Even though it is a science fiction television show, they use real life situations that everyday high schoolers go through. In the episode “Out of Sight, Out of Mind” a girl named Marcie becomes invisible because she is so ignored to her peers that she actually physically becomes invisible. Obviously this was not her choice. Now she is going to be invisible for the rest of her life from what the episode suggested. I mean, not much changed because she was so ignored, but was it better for her to be visible still and ignored, or is it better to actually be invisible?
Thursday, November 4, 2010
Maroon 5--Blog 43
Maroon 5. One of my favorite bands. I am currently listening to them as I write my blog. My roommate just recently gave me their newest cd. We discussed last night how we could listen to the cd every single day because it is such a good album. Every song is so good and different from the others. The first cd they came out with I absolutely loved and I probably know every single word to every song. Then their second cd came out and I was not a fan of the songs they played on the radio so I did not really look into the rest of the cd. The second cd just was completely different sounding than their first so it kinda of through me off. Now the third cd is back to their original song if you ask me. Some people may think I am completely wrong and think all the cd’s have the same sound but I guess it is really just how you view it. Everyone has a different opinion on music. I really could brag about Maroon 5 all day though, whereas someone else might hate them because maybe they would make fun of the lead singer and say his voice is too high or something stupid like that. My favorite song on their new cd is called “I Can’t Lie.” I find I relate to this song in many different ways. It is also currently my ringtone for my texts. So I guess I am really just advertising for Maroon 5 right now so if you haven’t listened to their new cd yet you definitely should, and if you have never listened to them before you should.
Wednesday, November 3, 2010
42- Questions about Common Place paper, help!
So I am not the type of person who procrastinates. I try and get stuff over with rather than have work pile up, but I totally forgot about this Common Place paper. So now I am sitting here trying to figure out anything about it. I do not understand what it is supposed to be about. I know it is based off our analytical research paper, but I do not know anything else about it. I wrote my analytical research paper on self esteem and attitude and the girl in the Buffy episode was invisible so that is what I am working with. I know in class I talked about something to do with what people would do if they were invisible for a day. So that is a very vague topic and I do not know what to do with that. I am reading the example of the Common Place paper on Carmen, but it still is not giving me a good idea of what is expected for this paper. Also, since our last class was a week ago I completely forget what we talked about with it. All I remember is we wrote a blog at the end of class kind of dealing with it. I feel like if I were to write my paper right now I would just ramble on about something that has nothing to do with what the paper is supposed to be about. I can ramble on when I am writing a blog like I am now, but this paper is a lot more important. So I guess if anyone can help me at all I would really appreciate it, thanks.
Tuesday, November 2, 2010
41
So I am sitting in my theatre class right now as my friend is trying to talk me into skipping English today. He was living in the towers and hates it there so he is always in my room on my futon. He just today moved into Steeb and just texted me asking to skip class so we can take a nap. I am like, you have your own bed now, sleep there. So he keeps trying to convince me to skip class. So I look at the daily schedule to see what we are doing today when I remember, WE DON’T HAVE CLASS TODAY!!! :D I am supposed to have my survey class today but it is already over for the quarter so I do not have to go to anymore survey classes and therefore I only have three classes now. So now I only have one class today and as soon as my theatre class is over I get to go back to my dorm and take a nap. This will also leave me plenty of extra time to study for my psychology mid term tomorrow that at this point I am going to fail, like the last mid term. So to finish my blog I will talk about my birthday yesterday. It was pretty awesome, my parents came and took me out to eat, got me some presents and got me a huge cookie cake that I have been sharing with all of my friends. Then my roommates got me two huge half pound reese cups, which I am making them eat some of because I am not eating that much haha and then all my friends up here are taking me out to dinner Thursday for my birthday because we all have a busy schedule so that’s the day we are all free, so that should be fun. Well i should probably pay attention to my class so, good bye :)
Monday, November 1, 2010
It's my birthday! :) oh and this is blog 40.
IT’S MY BIRTHDAY!!! WHOOOO!! Yeah, I am excited but I am only turning 19, so I mean, not a real big birthday. Nothing really happens when you turn 19, you just get a year older. For me that is okay, because I look like I am 15, MAYBE 16 at the most anyhow. So today my mom and step dad are coming to Columbus to take me out for my birthday dinner. I am planning on going to Eddie George’s because it is amazing, but also because I do not really know very many nice restaurants around Columbus so I am open to any suggestions. I am still like a little kid so I am hoping for some presents. I have at least matured to the stage of getting gifts that I need more than I want. I mean, if I could get both I would, but I am more focused on getting a winter jacket and boots if I am going to be walking a good 15 minutes to each class everyday. So tonight I am celebrating with my parents, tomorrow I think my friends are taking me out for dinner, and this weekend I am having a party at my sister’s boyfriend’s apartment with all my friends. So my birthday has been pretty good so far, everyone is spamming my facebook wall with birthday wishes. I am very thankful to have so many friends. Well I need to go study for my Psychology mid term on Wednesday because there is a lot of information to cover and not much time to study due to my birthday festivities. Bye.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
