Thursday, December 9, 2010

77

Well today was pretty awesome.  I woke up around noon but went to bed around 7 and yes I do mean 7 am.  I woke up to ten text messages, three missed calls, and a voicemail.  The one time I do not sleep with my phone right next to me I get all these texts and what not.  Oh well, so then I went to eat with my friends one last time before break then I packed and said good bye to my friends.  It was really sad actually, you see these people every single day for practically the past three months and now you are expected to just not see them for almost a month, that is just crazy.  I am glad to be home though.  I got to go out to eat at Red Lobster which is so yummy.  Then I went to my high school girls basketball game with one of my best friends.  Then we went to Denny’s to get some hot chocolate and dessert and just catch up on everything we have missed out on because she goes to Ohio University.  Now I am back at home and loving just relaxing and catching up on some Gossip Girl.  My dog has already seemed to start eating random things of mine that I have brought home.  I am hiding my buck id from her this time because I do not want to get another buck id, the people are going to stop giving me new ones because I have gotten 2 new ones already...oh well.

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

76 extra credittttt


Well today is an extra credit blog, whoo hoo!  I kind of need these points after my commonplace paper.  I did not mean for it to be so bad but I mean, I just could not get a good idea to write about that still related to my Buffy The Vampire Episode.  I thought I finally came up with a good idea and a decent paper and I actually took the time to work on it but I did not end up with a very good grade.  Today I cleaned my room, I cleaned and dusted everything on my desk, took everything out of it and reorganized it.  Then I went through my closest and cleaned all that and packed up stuff to go home.  I have a ton of clothes to clean and some shoes that got too dirty.   I started to study theatre after that and got through a few pages but I hadn’t had anything to eat and it was like 4 and I had been working really hard on cleaning my room so I needed to eat for energy.  I then facebook chatted my friend to order from PAD because I am out of swipes and it is too cold to go outside in this weather.  I also need to study a lot more for theatre because I have not actually spent real time studying for it except the like hour I actually did today.  I also need to study for psychology but I think there will be more time studying for that tomorrow all day because my final is not until 7:30.  

Monday, December 6, 2010

75

Dear future student's of English 110, 
When I first heard that the theme of this class would be science fiction I thought this class was going to be really geeky and stupid.  I saw on the syllabus the shows we would be watching and thought I had definitely gotten stuck in the stupid class that everyone tells you not to take.   The first thing I saw was about how we would be watching Firefly which is a show I had never heard of which I figured meant would absolutely suck because it wasn’t even on the air long enough to get any kind of a fan base.  I then saw that Buffy The Vampire Slayer would be one of the shows we could write our blogs on.  This was when things started to go from really negative thoughts to ok this class might not be too horrible.  I used to watch Buffy so I was excited to write my blogs just so I could watch those.  Then we watched Firefly and I actually didn’t fall asleep during the episode.  I enjoyed the show and even enjoyed the last two shows Battlestar Galactica and Caprica.  So my thoughts are that you should not be quick to judge this class because it is not as bad as you might originally think.  You will easily succeed in this class if you listen to what you are taught and don’t skip class or you will get behind.  I only missed one class and learned this.  If you want to actually learn and not just take a class then this is a good class to take.
Sincerely,
English 110 student 2010

Sunday, December 5, 2010

74

When I first started taking this class I enjoyed many different television shows, one of them being Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  I had never watched Angel or any of the other shows we watched in class.  I did enjoy our class being based off of something other than just reading stupid pointless books that put me to sleep.  It made the assignments a bit easier when all I had to do was talk about an episode of Buffy.  The only thing I did not like was that the actual episode took forty-five minutes out of my day before I even got to start writing the blog.  I do enjoy science fiction more now though.  I would never have watched Battlestar Galactica or Caprica which both actually seeming to interest me.  Science fiction is usually known as something nerdy and I automatically think of Star Trek when I think of Science Fiction which I guess is kind of like stereotyping haha.  Anyhow, I think the theme of science fiction really brought more interest into the class and was a good way to make the class more modern than the usual boring English classes we are used to taking in high school.  Firefly was not my favorite of this class but I still found it interesting as opposed to my initial thought which was, “oh gees, I wish I would have gotten more sleep last night because I am NOT going to be able to stay awake.”  But now I am glad that I took the class because not only am I a better writer than before, my thought about science fiction have been completely changed for the better.

Saturday, December 4, 2010

73

Well today was pretty fun, I stayed with my sister and her friend last night and then woke up and went back to my dorm.  Ordered some Cane’s with my friends and then took a nap while watching Harry Potter.  Then I watched some more Harry Potter, ordered chinese with my roommate and now we are going to watch Eclipse.  I am trying to quickly write this blog because I forgot about it and I really want to go watch Eclipse.  I love Twilight, yes I am one of those people, sorry.  I need to study for finals but I mean who cares if it is just one more day that I don’t study.  There is always tomorrow and I don’t have finals until Wednesday so I am not going to stress about it.  I am not understand why Harry Potter has been playing all day on ABC family because it is supposed to be the 25 Day of Christmas...I mean I am enjoying it but last time I checked, Harry Potter has nothing to do with Christmas.  My room is an absolute mess, my roommates and I decided were doing like a major clean up before break so we all kind of decided to just let it go and so stuff is just everywhere.  I have like 7 pairs of shoes just sitting out, that is pathetic.  Well I am off to go watch Eclipse, then hopefully I will actually start to study for my finals.  Good night!!

Friday, December 3, 2010

72

Well I am currently listening to screamo versions of Carol of the Bells and it is quite entertaining.  My friend Anthony is looking all these random versions on youtube.  Some people have some weird renditions of this song.  There’s violin playing, rock version, metal versions, guitar, just anything random really.  There are not many versions with people actually singing it though, which I find is odd, because I thought there were a lot of groups that did harmonizing and stuff like that with this song.  
So anyhow tonight should be fun.  It is the last Friday that I will be in Columbus for a while and I will actually have freedom.  Once I get home I will be super sheltered again and I will have a curfew of 10 through the week and midnight on friday and saturday.  I am now 19 years old and have been living independently for about two months now, yet I will go back to all the rules I had when I was in high school.  This really sucks, because I know that there is no chance that they will slack off on the rules or be more lenient with the rules.  My roommates said they are going to send my parents a letter telling them they need to relax and let the me be more free...I feel as though I would get in trouble for that and I would be under house arrest even more than I already will be.  Well it is time for nap time, bye.




http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XB5XSDDEbx8


^^^thats the screamo carol of the bells if you are interested in hearing it

Thursday, December 2, 2010

71

Well Caprica was pretty good but once again I was too tired, I kept falling asleep throughout it.  I liked the concept of it and everything, but I do not understand why the guy blew up the train.  All of the friends are going to go on the train but one of the girls decides that she is not going to get on the train.  I don’t understand where they were going or why the girl decided to not get on the train.  I also do not understand the gods and who believes in who or how many gods.  The guy with the gloves is confusing me too, I pretty much really couldn’t follow anything that was going on.  Then when him and the main girl’s dad went to shake hands but then he pulled back because the guy was wearing gloves and he was like oh I didn’t realize or whatever.  So still haven’t really understood anything yet.  I think the concept of the show was cool though, like the other dimension or whatever you would call it, but the virgin sacrifice was super weird and scary.  I liked how they actually finally told you the different rooms and what they were, because before that they were only showing naked girls making out with other naked girls...it was kind of odd.  I wish we could have finished the end so I would actually understand everything but I would rather have gotten out of class early.  Now I need to go fix my memo so bye.